Cllr. Gurjit Kaur Bains

Gurjit Bains is a Gravesham Borough Councillor for the Woodlands Ward.

Gurjit was first elected to represent Whitehill Ward at Gravesham Borough Council in 2015 at the age of 24, making her the first Asian female to serve as a councillor in Gravesham and one of the youngest members to be appointed to the Cabinet. 

She was born and brought up in Gravesham and is passionate about seeing the diverse and cohesive community within Gravesham flourish.

Professionally, Gurjit works as a political consultant advising companies within the planning and local government sector. Prior to this she worked as an adviser on outreach issues for Vote Leave during the EU referendum.

In her spare time, Gurjit likes walking her dog Leo and supporting her local football team Punjab United. 

Follow Gurjit on Twitter here @CllrGurjitBains


Read Gurjit's local election 2019 pledges for Woodlands

See Also

Cllr. Emma Elliott

Cllr. Emma Elliott is member for Painters Ash Ward at Gravesham Borough Council.


Cllr. Derek Ashenden

Cllr. Derek Ashenden is a member for Riverview ward at Gravesham Borough Council.                                                   

Derek is passionate about healthcare and the protection of our greenbelt.

Cllr. Ejaz Aslam

Cllr. Ejaz Aslam is a member for Meopham South and Vigo ward at Gravesham Borough Council.                                                                                                                                           

Cllr Gary Harding

Gary Harding is the Gravesham Borough Councillor for Meopham North and is the Borough’s Disability Champion. 

He was born October 1961 in Gravesend, and at the age of 3 was diagnosed Deaf at the Nuffield Centre, London.

Cllr. Leslie Hills

Leslie Hills is member for Chalk Ward in Gravesham Borough Council.                                                     

Leslie has lived in Chalk since 1982 and has been privileged to serve on GBC as Councillor since 2007 and as leader of the Conservative Group since August 2018.

Cllr. Les Hoskins

Cllr. Les Hoskins is a member for the Whitehill Ward at Gravesham Borough Council.                                                                                                                                

Cllr. Bob Lane

Cllr. Bob Lane is a member for Shorne, Cobham and Luddesdown ward at Gravesham Borough Council and Chairman of Shorne Parish Council.