Gravesham Conservatives Appoint a New Group Leader

On Tuesday 7th May 2019, the Gravesham Conservative Group held their Annual General Meeting. At this meeting the following Councillors were elected as Officers of the Group:

  • Cllr. Jordan Meade – Group Leader
  • Cllr. Ejaz Aslam – Deputy Group Leader
  • Cllr. Bob Lane – Chief Whip
  • Cllr. Derek Ashenden – Group Secretary

Jordan, at the age of 23 became the youngest Council Group Leader in England.

Jordan is one of your Conservative Councillors for Woodlands Ward and he has been a Councillor since 2015, previously representing Singlewell Ward. Between 2015 and 2018, Jordan served as Cabinet Member for Tourism and Youth and was Chairman of the borough’s Licensing Committee.

Councillor Jordan Meade said:

"Over the course of the next few weeks, I look forward to settling into my new role as Leader of the Opposition in Gravesham. With the support of my 17 fantastic colleagues, we will do the people of Gravesham proud in providing effective scrutiny and working hard within our community. I am proud to follow a line of remarkable local Conservative Leaders. Today, the memory of the late Cllr John Cubitt comes to mind, for he was the Leader that made the 19-year-old me a Cabinet Member and paved the way for me, at the age of 23, to become, the youngest council group leader in England.

We now have a responsibility to make sure that the Labour Council fulfils its promises on protecting our green spaces, reducing town centre crime and working to improve local housing. Despite being in opposition we will work hard for our residents and continue to seek best value for taxpayers’ money and suggest improvements to local services.”

In paying tribute to the outgoing Group Leader, Councillor Jordan Meade said:

“Councillor Leslie Hills is an incredibly decent and dedicated councillor. It was a pleasure to work with him over the past few months as his Chief Whip and I look most forward to him joining our new shadow cabinet.

This afternoon, Councillor Jordan Meade confirmed that the following Group Members would be appointed to the Shadow Cabinet:

Leader of the Opposition: Cllr. Jordan Meade

Deputy Leader of the Opposition: Cllr. Ejaz Aslam

Shadow Cabinet Member for Performance & Administration: Cllr. Leslie Hills

Shadow Cabinet Member for Commercial: Cllr. Tony Rice

Shadow Cabinet Member for Community & Leisure: Cllr. Gurjit Bains

Shadow Cabinet Member for Strategic Environment: Cllr. Bob Lane

Shadow Cabinet Member for Conservation & Planning Policy: Cllr. Conrad Broadly

Shadow Cabinet Member for Operational Services: Cllr. Alan Ridgers

Shadow Cabinet Member for Housing: Cllr. Leslie Hoskins